Posted by Rod Paton on Dec 14, 2017
Acting President Bill Skews, on behalf of the Rotary Club of Christchurch Avon-Otakaro, warmly welcomed Mayor Lianne Dalziel and 74 Rotarians, Awardees, Teachers and other guests to the annual School Honour Roll Awards evening on 7 November.
The Awards are for intermediate age Students (years 7 & 8) from Eastern Suburb Schools who have been selected by their Schools as worthy recipients. The Eastern suburbs being the heartland of our Club’s activities. This year the award recipients came from; Chisnallwood, New Brighton Catholic, Park View, Queenspark, Rawhiti and Shirley Intermediate schools and from Haeata Community College. Criteria for these awards include Citizenship, Leadership and Courtesy.
A special welcome was extended to; awardees and their teachers, Mayor Lianne Dalziel, Rotary District Governor Sarita McLean, Rotary Assistant District Governor Sharon Woodings, Guest Speaker Virginia Le Bas, Rotarians from the Ashburton Rotary (Hugh Blaikie, Bevan Rickerby, Richard Begbie, Graeme Kingan and Jo Metcalf) and not forgetting the members of the “Proud Brown” musical group from Haeata Community College - Pj Iva, Junior Muaimalae, Gracey Smith, Evile Laloata, Lisha Anitelea and Sholita Umutaua.

The School Honour Roll Awards were presented to the recipients by Lianne Dalzeil and Virginia le Bas.
The “School Honour Roll Awards” were established over 24 years ago - organised jointly with the Rotary Club of Christchurch East and the Altrusa Club of Pegasus Bay. From 2008 Avon-Otakaro Rotary took on the sole responsibility for the annual School Honour Roll Awards.